the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


Why I Can’t Get Haiti Off My Heart
February 9, 2010, 11:11 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

h19_21695753

Today marks the one month anniversary of the catastrophic earthquake that rocked Haiti, forever changing the country, its people, and those beyond its border whose hearts were broken with grief and sorrow.

Yet sadly, most people have forgotten about Haiti. Maybe they haven’t forgotten about it all together. After all, it is before us on a fairly regular basis. But, unless it first is brought to their attention first, they’d probably prefer not to think about it. Understandably so. As humans, we don’t like to think about that which hurts us. But if thinking about Haiti and what’s doing on there pains us, can you imagine how much more it does to those with whom it is a daily reality? They can’t turn off the TV, close the internet browser, or walk away from it. Enjoy the fact that you have that luxury.

I almost wish I didn’t have that luxury sometimes. I don’t want to forget Haiti. I don’t want to act like it never happened. I want to keep it all close to my heart.

The other night I found myself looking at some of the most incredible, heartbreaking, and yet even awe-inspiring photographs taken over the past few weeks. And I began to weep. I had no other real response. I was saddened and left wondering…

How can we so quickly we forget about things happening so close to our shores? How can we forget that people are needlessly dying, failing to receive food, water and supplies, and yet, somehow, miraculously, they are surviving?

Today, Anderson Cooper, on his blog, talked about why he went back to Haiti. Upon seeing the title, “Why I’m back in Haiti,” I thought to myself, “why did you ever leave?” (Apparently, the people of Port au Prince said the same thing.) Of the current situation, Cooper writes:

“The homeless are everywhere, the hungry are as well. They are still finding bodies all the time. Twenty-five people were shoved into old crypts in a city cemetery today. We watched the remains of a mother and her son being sealed into a crypt.

It’s not the kind of misery that makes for headlines perhaps, and clearly it’s not the kind of sorrow that demands a place on the nightly news, but it should.

There is more happening here than 10 American missionaries in jail… No one deserves to die in silence, and no one’s struggle to live should go unnoticed as well.”

While I know there are other things going on around the world — politics, economics, business and such — nothing grips my heart like the human drama that is unfolding before us in Haiti.

I don’t know if the best writers in the world could come up with some of these stories. Just yesterday CNN reported the story of 28 year-old Evan Muncie, who was rescued from the rubble after four weeks! And still alive? That, by itself is a miracle.

So Haiti remains close to my heart. It must. I cannot let it leave. The work to be done will take, not weeks, not months, but years, perhaps even decades. But as the Haitian proverb says, “Piti, piti, oiseau fè nich li,” (little by little the bird builds its nest).

[If you would like to donate, you can text “Yele” to 501501 to donate $5 to Wyclef Jean’s Yele Haiti program or text “Haiti” to 90999 to donate $10 to the Red Cross. Both donations will be charged to your cell phone bill. Please donate now.]

[For more from Stuart, follow him on Twitter, and connect with him on Facebook.]

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

