the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


It’s a Different Plan: Daniel Fast 2010: Day 2
January 2, 2010, 11:16 pm
Filed under: Daniel Fast | Tags: ,

Well… Day two has come and gone. And I’ve been absolutely drained today. I mean just dog tired. And while I know it’s from the lack of food, it’s still strange because I can normally go all day long with energy to spare. Not today. Probably not tomorrow either.

We had a prayer meeting at church this morning at 7am that I definitely missed. I set my alarm last night and headed to bed. The alarm went off, I hit some button, and woke up at 7:30am. Living 30 minutes away from the church, I rolled over and went back to sleep. I hate that I missed it, but clearly my body had other plans.

In other news, Red Lobster (where we ate lunch today for my mom’s birthday) is perhaps one of the least Daniel Fast friendly places you could even think about eating. I swear everything had either cheese or shrimp or lobster on it. And Lawd, those Cheddar Bay Biscuits! Normally they are just what the doctor ordered, but today I had to say a quick, “Get thee behind me, biscuits!” to overcome the temptation set before me.

I digress.

Speaking of having other plans, my Pastor posted this video today and I wanted to share it with you. He talks about how often we have different plans for ourselves than God would have for us. I experienced this reality when my birthday rolled around last October. I realized that I had all kinds of ideas as to where I’d be at this age and I had come to discover that I filled almost none those ideas. But perhaps they weren’t what God had for me. Perhaps I was right where God wanted me.

As we enter this time of fasting, let’s pray that the goals and plans we create would line up with those goals and plans that God has for us. Look at what God says:

I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord. They are plans for peace and not disaster, plans to give you a future filled with hope. Then you will call to me. You will come and pray to me, and I will hear you. When you look for me, you will find me. When you wholeheartedly seek me, I will let you find me, declares the Lord. (Jeremiah 29:11-14a GWT)

Take a look at the video for the day. (Admittedly I’m not sure if they’ll continue to do these, but if they do, I’ll be sure to post them here.) Enjoy!

PS: How was day two for you?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I got this video too:) I really hope that they continue doing this every day of the fast. It’s helps me stay connected to the church. I am the only person I know here in NYC doing the Daniel so I would love the video support:) Day 2 was crazy for me- full of headaches and sleepiness:)

Comment by confessionsofaschoolteacher

I like this blog on the fast. I’m not doing the full Daniel fast, but have made some big changes for the month of January. Your encouragement and transparency combined with wisdom is truly appreciated! Keep up the good words.

Comment by nelsonbmcdonald

Hey Stuart – We just started a blog here at our church and I guess my blog led me to yours and that’s how I landed here. Day two for me sounds much like the same — really tired – small dull headache from caffeine withdrawals probably. But reading and praying through it — blogs like your help – thanks — and CONFESSIONSOFASCHOOLTEACHER our church is here in NYC (the Bronx to be exact) and there are over 200 of us doing the fast with you.. Be Encouraged.. Expecting great things in the Body of Christ this year…

Comment by Jorge Martinez




Leave a Reply

