the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


I’m Not That Hungry… Yet!: 2010 Daniel Fast: Day 1
January 2, 2010, 1:12 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

As of 6am (don’t ask why six instead of midnight, that’s just the way the church has always done it) this morning, we’ve officially begun the 2010 Daniel Fast.

Coincidentally, that’s also about the time I got to bed. I was out at Marietta Diner (a favorite spot of mine) after Destiny’s NYE service until about 4:30am and then had to come home and knock out a blog. Seems like I’m almost always blogging in the middle of the night. Perhaps odd to some, it’s not a new year’s goal or resolution to change that. I’ve always been more productive at night.

All that to say that I slept through most of the day today, then ran a few errands, so I didn’t have much time to be too hungry.

Except when I went to the movies… I would have loved some Sour Patch Kids. Or a Snickers. And then as I was driving home, I thought to myself, “Let me just swing by Fellini’s and grab a slice of that supreme, they’re open until 2am.” Uhh… No, Stuart, there’s nothing there for you to eat.

At this point, I’ve got a slight headache, which will go away as soon as I doze off, and I feel my system starting to clean itself out (which means staying close to a bathroom for the next few days). Other than that, we’re just getting rolling! The next few days are truthfully the hardest, but they’ll be done soon enough, and before you know it, we’ll be coming down the home stretch.

I can’t wait to see what God reveals to me this year. Stay tuned. It’ll be interesting for sure.

But before I leave, it wouldn’t be right of my to not ask you, how was your first day? Did you face any struggles? What have you noticed that you didn’t expect?

Look forward to hearing from you!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My first day went pretty good but that may be because I didn’t wake until 1:30 in the afternoon. My first meal was a smoothie made with apple juice, strawberries, peach slices and oatmeal. It was quite good! For dinner I had steamed veggies and for a snack I made a small raspberry and peach smoothie. I also had a few walnuts to keep me sane. My body keeps asking for weird things like pepper jack cheese and fish-sticks but all in all the day went well. Thanks for asking!

Comment by Sharie

I did the Daniel fast with a good friend of mine Fall 09. We did it for 40 days. It was DEFINITELY hard. Although I eat pretty healthy regularly, knowing that I couldn’t eat certain things made it challenging. When I was really craving, I prayed that God would see and honor my sacrifice and give me strength. Towards the end I felt healthier and so much more in tune with God. I had so much joy and peace…there’s nothing like it.

Comment by SkyIsNotTheLimit

I just started the Daniel Fast as well. Except that I ate some leftover black eyed peas and rice…now eating tomato vegatable soup…

Comment by Kira




Leave a Reply

