the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


I’m An Introvert. Really.
December 13, 2009, 12:44 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The other day I discovered that I can actually post to my blog via email (this is my first time using it). I know this seems like a simple thing, but I’m excited about it because it means that I don’t have to be in front of my Mac to share something with you. Now I can get my “Rev. Run” on and blog from the bathtub if it so strikes me… Even though I can’t think of the last… ok, I can think of the last time I took a bath, but before that I can’t. Suffice it to say, I don’t do baths like that.

Anyway… I’m also going to be more intentional about blogging little random things. They may not be long, drawn out 1500 word posts — I rarely do those anyway — but perhaps just brief observations or snippets of something I had happen to me. Why? Because I want you to get to know me a little more. The good, the bad, and the ugly. I promise there’s plenty of each.

Having said all that, let me get to what I really wanted to say tonight…

Now, with people I know well and am comfortable with, it’s an altogether different story, but with people I don’t know, and have no immediate need to know, I just keep to myself. I probably won’t strike up a conversation on my own. In a room full of people, I tend to keep to myself. On an airplane, I normally don’t talk to anyone. Not that I don’t want to get to know people, but I just have to see some kind of compelling need to converse with a stranger. That compelling need may come in a variety of ways — like her being an attractive individual (I’m only a little kidding) — but it’s always present in some way, shape, or form.

I bring this up because most people don’t believe it at first. Probably because most people meet me at church (where I’m serving in some extroverted capacity or hosting an event) or via Twitter or my blog (where, again, I’m very open and probably more extroverted than my natural self). But believe you me, I am, more often than not, an introverted person.

I don’t know quite why this is, and, in fact, I suppose there may not be a reason. If there indeed is a reason, is it that important to discover? Would it change the way I am? I don’t know. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. But I don’t think I’ll be seeking an answer as to the origins of my introverted-ness because, well, I’m ok with it.

In semi-related news, I have never, I repeat, never (at least to my remembrance) approached a women that I didn’t have some type of commonality or small interaction with in order to “pick her up.” Seems strange, I know (especially because I’m apparently a flirt). I guess my mindset is that if that person is truly someone I’m designed to have a relationship with, I’ll see them for more than 6 seconds. But I could be wrong. It’s happened before.

So I want to hear from you… Are you an introvert like me, or an extroverted person? What would you be like in a room full of strangers? Do you like to holler at “random” women (or men)?

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

no im an introvert that had 2 learn 2 b an extrovert when needed,lol;seriously if i had not worked in a hospital i still would be labelled as an extremely shy woman,i had 2 learn 2 speak up 4 myself no joke even went so far as 2 take seminars on speaking in public b cos i was afraid 2 express my thoughts!which is why i am writing a book 4 woman now & relationships!

Comment by michele

I completely know what you mean! I am the same way. With my friends and family I am talkative and outgoing BUT if I don’t know you, I don’t speak. I like meeting new people but I am usually not going to talk to anyone, especially in a room full of strangers. Just like you, I have never walked up to the opposite sex just to “holla” at them. I never saw the point

Comment by Kirsten (essence 21)

I feel your pain. I too am an introvert as well as a self proclaimed nerd. I tend to become a wall flower in crowded room and if I see someone who interests me I shy away instead of make it known.
Great post.
Cecele

Comment by Cecele Denman

I’m a total introvert, even around my friends and family. It’s not that I’m trying to be, it’s just how I am. I used to be an extrovert, but that was way back when. I especially hate crowds of any kind. I get nervous in them. Parties, are almost out of the question.

Comment by Saturn Space Woman

I’ve only been following you on Twitter for about a week, and I’m totally surprised to read that you’re an introvert, based on your tweets. Particularly a few days ago when you were out and counting the number of familiar people you would run into. But I can totally relate to being an introvert. I’ve accepted that I prefer to be the quiet observer, especially because I consider so much of what people say to be so pretentious. I think a lot of people confuse shy and introverted. I’m definitely not shy. I’m pretty bad though…even to the point where a group of people will be pondering the answer to a question, and even knowing the answer I still won’t speak up.

Comment by Pink_Luxe

Most people who know me via an online venue (blog, Twitter, Facebook) would say the same thing. I think it has to do with the fact that I’m more comfortable with just sharing, like I already know people as opposed to having to build friendships from the ground up. Kinda strange, I know.

And you know those people I ran into? I know them all from church. LOL. Most people I run into in Atlanta (or anywhere for that matter) I know from church or somehow through Twitter. The world is a small place. Now that I’m in school, I occasionally run into someone from there as well.

Comment by CreativeStu

I believe myself to be an introvert, but others believe I am an extrovert. Which is so funny to me because I HATE to be in large crowds. However, I am the type of person who is always around laughing and trying to engage people in conversation should their be a large crowd. As one of my girls put it “Krystle your personality is not made to be in the house.”

I use to holler at guys.. and my friends thought I had all the guts in the world. However again this is so funny because my esteem use to be so low. To me it was never a matter of caring about rejection, but if I sense he was interested, I had no qualms about approaching. Now, I won’t approach. Why? I just feel like I need to really know you to even want to get to know you better. If we can’t be cool as friends, I don’t even think we can enter that “ship” realm.

Comment by Krystle

I really like this post because I am an introvert too!! People who have met me within the last 4 years, however, think that I am extroverted. I appear outgoing and outspoken. I love attention and will dance my heart out at any party. BUT 10 years ago, that wasn’t the case. In fact it seems as though I get more extroverted as I get older. I don’t know if that’s possible? But one thing is for sure–I am actually more outgoing around people I don’t know than people I do know. Weird huh? Thanks for posting! I always enjoy reading your fb notes, tweets, etc. Keep them coming, Stu!

Comment by Jessica




Leave a Reply

