the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


I’m Wondering… “What’s the Catch?” [vlog]
November 18, 2009, 10:14 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I find myself in a situation where it seems that I can’t help but wonder, “What’s the catch?” But I wonder if that’s really healthy all the time. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it in certain instances, but when do we let go? What do you think? Have you ever been here before? What did you do? How did it work out?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Stu! As you already said, “what’s the catch” just keeps you from experiencing the good…there’s almost always a catch, and sometimes that catch is a deal breaker and sometimes it’s not..just be aware of that fact so when it comes, all you have to say is “oh, there you are.” At that point you get to decide if the “catch” is as important as all of the goodness you’ve fully experienced while not wondering when or how it was gonna come. Otherwise, you’re only halfway attentive to the good times in which case the Catch will certainly outweigh the half-good. Yup.

Comment by kenajos

I thought you were a man of faith. 😉

Stay in the moment and stay open.

Comment by Carmen D.

I think maybe I am conditioned to wait for the “catch” out of fear of the unknown and fear that if this really turns out to be a good thing (with no catch) then how will I maintain it? And sometimes maybe I wait for the catch because I feel like I don’t deserve a certain thing. I also wonder if I wait for the catch because I want there to be one. Maybe disappointment has been a familiar comfort to me and I don’t know how to function without one. I’ve been asking God why I’m holding my breath and why I can’t just let my mind “go there” and believe that there is no such thing as too good to be true. Idk.

I do know that as much as I say that I’m waiting for “the catch”, I really really really don’t want there to be one.

Comment by alissachristine

I’ve had that moment before when everything was going well and I had the same “something bad is about to happen” condition. Thing is, something bad did happen. Well bad at the time, however looking back it was very necessary for me to endure so I could move forward. A lesson I’ve learned from that is no matter what may happen everything will work in my favor. So, even if you anticipate a bad event, just know that it is another part of life story that will only bring you to the next level in life.

Comment by Krystle

Ditto to what Carmen said! You’re a man of faith, stay in faith.

Comment by Melinda




Leave a Reply

