the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


Just Journaling Tonight
September 11, 2009, 12:40 am
Filed under: Mind Flush | Tags: , , ,

Today I don’t really have anything too deep or insightful or controversial. I just wanted to write a little bit about what I feel like God has been doing in my life. This is more of a journal entry than you’ve seen me do in a while, perhaps. Just as a heads up: I’m going to be intentionally vague about specific names because I don’t think that they necessarily add anything to the story.

I guess I have some uncertainty, as we all do from time to time, or perhaps more often than periodically, about what exactly it is that God’s doing. I feel like He’s behind the scenes, moving things around, getting some stuff ready, but for what, I don’t know yet. I feel like there have been several statement that people have made, several hints that really struck a chord. You ever had a few completely random people mention the same thing to you at completely different times? That’s happened a few times lately. It’s very interesting because what they’re mentioning wasn’t really something I thought I would be doing, but I can see how God could use that as a part of my calling.
I also see God building, or at least starting to put in place the beginnings of crucial relationships that could definitely take my influence to a whole other level. For example, I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to blog on a site called Elev8 which is owned by Radio One and part of the Black Planet family. This is one of those opportunities that I could never have even tried to set up on my own. Absolutely a complete God thing. They contacted me because a great guy that I go to church with and interact with on Twitter had mentioned my blogging, which at that point wasn’t really being done for anyone in particular. So they called me up one day, we chatted, and they invited me to join the team. Mind you, I’m not being paid for this, which is how you know it’s something I love to do, but it’s none the less a huge privilege to have my work out on such a platform. That has also exposed me to a lot of people that I otherwise would not have had the chance to impact and influence.

While blogging at Elev8 has been incredible, I’ve also learned a few lessons. I’ve learned that you have to be ready for all kinds of criticism. Before, when I would write, mostly my friends, family, and facebook folks would read it, and they rarely had bad things to the say. They, nine times out of ten, agreed with me, or at least saw my perspective. Opening myself up to more criticism and critique has forced me to pull out the thick skinned Gore-Tex jacket. Pants too. It’s made me observe my writing and honestly see what I can improve. I know there’s plenty of improvement to do, but I’m on my way there.

I look forward to the day when I’ll be able to write AND make money, but Lord knows I’ve got a way to go when it comes to my skills. I’ve realized, as I look at other writers and they way they write, that, while I do have a gift, I still have a lot of work to do in order to become better. I’ve realized that the best way to become a better writer is to write and to have those better than yourself critique your work. And then to write some more. And get more critique. And then write some more. I don’t want to make it seem like I just look down on myself; that’s not the case. I just recognize that there are those more talented than I, and honestly, since I’ve only been consistently writing for around 10 months, I’m ok with that. Stay tuned and see where God has me in a few years. That’ll be interesting to see.

I’d also like to read more than I do now, but it seems that sometimes I have such A.D.D. I can’t get focused. I’ll read one book for a week or so, knock out maybe half the book, and move onto something else. But I’ll work on that. Maybe I need to find some people who do read different types of books and read a book with them. I think that’s a good idea actually. If you’re interested in that, let me know.

I didn’t anticipate spending the majority of this post talking about my writing, but hey, when you journal, this tend to come out when you don’t necessarily expect them to, right? Yeah, right. Having said that, I know that being an author will not be my end-all. I know God has more than that for me. Although writing is a piece of my calling (which I’ll someday let you in on) it’s just that: a piece. Now, I also know some of the other pieces, but I don’t know how to get there. I don’t know the steps. I feel that I’ve been faithful with the steps that God has given me thus far, but I often wonder if there’s something else I could be doing that I’m not.

I feel like I could write for many more hours. I haven’t touched anything personal and Lord knows that could go for a while in and of itself. But for now, this shall suffice.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

