the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


Because You Don’t Want It
August 20, 2009, 8:39 pm
Filed under: Mind Flush, My Life... | Tags: , , , , ,

woman-pushing-away

I’ve been very lazy with my relationship with God lately. Honestly, I’ve backslidden. I haven’t had drastic moral failures, but in any relationship you’re either moving forward or backward. I was moving backward with Him. I haven’t been spending time with Him like I should and I couldn’t figure out why.

So I had a very honest conversation with Him. I rambled about how I felt and about my fears in life. What I wanted, what I thought I needed, and how I was angry with Him. I told Him how I didn’t see Him working in my life and the confusion that was causing. I was as open as honest as I could have been. At the end of our conversation (or rather my rambling), I still hadn’t heard Him speak, so I simply said, “God, why do I not have as close of a relationship with you as I should?”

I waited quietly and then He replied, as clear as day, “Because you don’t want it.”

A little shocked and confused, I said, “What?”

He spoke again.

“You don’t want a close, deep, committed relationship with me. You don’t have that desire. You’re scared of what you’ll lose, and maybe more so scared of the responsibilities you’ll gain as we grow closer. Your fear is irrational and a trick of the enemy yet you still believe it. Don’t. Every responsibility and anointing I want to give you isn’t even for you; it’s for those you know.”

“Stuart,” He said, “stop thinking that your relationship with me is about you. There are lives attached to you that will spend eternity without me if you don’t spend more quality time with me. I have things to give you that will impact them in a way that you could never imagine, but I can’t change them if you stay where you are!”

“I will never give you more responsibility than I know you’re ready for” He continued. “You may not know you’re ready to handle it, but you have to trust that I know best. I know you and I know what you can do. I’ll be right there with you. You will not have to shoulder these responsibilities alone.”

As I continued to drive, the words of my Pastor were brought to my mind. He says, “You are only as close to God as your choose to be.” Such true words. The control of any relationship lies with the person who is least committed. In our relationship with God, we are always the least committed. He gave us His everything. He’s waiting for us to give Him whatever we choose. Ideally, He wants all of us, but we rarely give Him that for the reason that I struggled with.

I also remember He very distinctly told me to share with others what He had just told me. I know He knew I wasn’t the only only one going through the same thing. If you’re in the same situation, take comfort; I’m right there with you.

It’s hard to come to grips with, but he has your best interest at heart. He will not give you more than you can handle. He may give you more than you think you can handle, but the test will only grow you and take you to another level. Remember, you are only as close to God as you want to be. He wants to be close to you. Do you want to be close to Him?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good word bro. Thanks for sharing!

Comment by SE

Absolutely amazing. Its not God’s fault that were not close to Him its ours. The fear of what or who we will lose is too great and will cause us to miss out on the intimacy that we desire with God. We’ve got to get rid of fear so that we can operate in FAITH, AMEN!!!!!!

Comment by Rebecca

Excellent post. I just read your post on Elev8 regarding “Saved Men Aren’t Blind” *which was QUITE entertaining by the way* and I saw your blog at the bottom.

This is my first time visiting and let me just say that I’m glad I decided to click the link. I’m there with you. I don’t understand this concept of a relationship and often look for things to “happen” to validate the relationship.

I am going to ask God that same question you asked him after I give a similar tongue lashing *LOL* and will wait for His response. I doubt it will come out as clear as yours, but we’ll see.

I could go on and on, but I’ll just end it with a “THANKS.”

Comment by Krystle

“The control of any relationship lies with the person who is least committed.”

That statement is very deep. I have been struggling with this exact same issue. Begging and pleading with God, trying to grasp why I don’t have a closer relationship with Him. Just as you discovered, it is truly because I don’t want that deep relationship with Him. The truth is that on my journey to be closer to Him, I have to change the person that I am right now. The enemy tempts us into believing that we should desire to remain where we are but my Father continues to push me forward; urging me to break from my comfort soul. Thanks for sharing this post!

Comment by Saadia Me'Chel

“Every responsibility and anointing I want to give you isn’t even for you; it’s for those you know.”

That sentence hit me right between the eyes. This was a powerful post, and yes, it could have been written for ME, someone you don’t know.

Comment by jennifer




Leave a Reply

