the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


A Son. A Brother. A Father. A Friend.
AP Photo/ Mario Anzuoni, Pool

Michael's daughter speaks at her father's memorial. (AP / Mario Anzuoni)

Watching Michael Jackson’s memorial today really hit me hard. I wrote a post about him & his legacy last week, but what hit me today was his humanity. He was a son. A brother. A father. A friend.

I’m normally a fairly composed person, even when sadness and mourning is all around. I’ve normally “walked through” what could go on in my mind. I’ve thought about how I would respond before things happen.

I was prepared for the speakers. I thought I was prepared for the musicians. What I wasn’t prepared for was the 11 year old girl. For the first time in her life, Paris Katherine Jackson took the microphone. She spoke 30 of the shortest and most basic words in the English language. They were words that made the world stop. And weep with her and perhaps for her.

“I just wanted to say, ever since I was born, Daddy has been the best father you could ever imagine. And I just wanted to say I love him so much.”

I wept. Tears streaming down my face, trying to catch my breath.

Those simple yet incredibly poignant words said what 2 and a half hours of moving song and eloquent speeches failed to. She brought such a humanity and a realness to, not only that service, but to her father. With those words she silenced the media, the critics, the haters, and the nay-sayers. In that moment he wasn’t an artist. He wasn’t a dancer. He wasn’t an entertainer. He wasn’t a star. He wasn’t the King of Pop. He was a daddy. Her daddy.

One of my favorite shots of my dad and I. 2 of a kind!

Like father, like son.

In Paris’ words, I saw the closeness between her and her daddy, Michael Jackson. She made me think about my own father & our relationship. My father and I are incredibly close; something rarely found these days. While I cherish each moment we have together, I will be unimaginably distraught when passes. That is one of the few situations too painful for me to think about. While I know, without a doubt in my mind, he will be rejoicing in Heaven, I still pains me to think I won’t be able to call him on the phone. Or travel the world with him. Or ask him for advice. Or shake his hand. Or give him a hug.

Cherish those that are fortunate enough to share another day with us. Don’t pass up an opportunity to tell someone how much they mean to you. The gripping reality is, we’re not promised tomorrow. Don’t take today for granted. And let us not forget that despite whatever you think about Michael Jackson’s personal and private life, whether you think of him as a freak, pedophile, pervert, he was a son. A brother. A father. A friend.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well said son. Your words are compelling because they are true, and they touch a level of intimacy that most can’t admit to or aren’t capable of expressing.

I am so proud of you for here’s another example that you are a gifted communicator. You have heart and compassion and you can see truth. And you can help others be set free through sharing the truth. A rare talent, one of many you possess.

I love you Stuart, you are doing a good thing, sharing the truth in love. Life doesn’t get any better than that. Not even on a dusty road in the outback of Australia watching “hey hey it’s Saturday” in a town with 5 bars and 2 hotels in the middle of nowhere with your best friend.

Thanks for being my best friend, It’s a joy and an honor.

I love you man.

Love,
Dad

Comment by Nelson McDonald

Thanks Dad! I will NEVER forget that or any of the other countless experiences we’ve shared together! I love you and always appreciate the words of encouragement! You’re the best man!

Comment by CreativeStu

*sniff* The above love-fest between you and your dad is too much…as well as the picture! TOO CUTE!!! This was wonderfully written and I agree. Myself and millions of people across the world cried their ugliest cry when we heard the sincerity in Paris’ voice and watched her weep in anguish. God bless her, the Jackson family and his legacy!

Comment by lilisheree

Stu,

I saw myself in Paris when she spoke at her father’s funeral. I love my Daddy more than words can say. He was sick a lot growing up so since I’ve been a little girl, I’ve always known…. Daddy’s not going to be here one day.

I tear up at the very thought of not being able to hear his voice, melt in to his tall frame, relax with him as he watches the SciFi channel for the 298,347,247th day straight. 🙂

Anyway, from one adult who loves their daddy to another…I feel you.

Comment by eboni




Leave a Reply

