the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


Death to Obama? Really?
June 23, 2009, 1:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

skulls

So, I’m on Twitter and I see an interesting headline pop across the screen. “Southern Baptist minister prays for Obama’s death” Intrigued, I open the article:

“The Rev. Wiley Drake, a former second vice president of the Southern Baptist Convention, told Fox News Radio earlier this month that he was practicing “imprecatory prayer” or seeking a divine curse that would cause the president to die.”

To pray for someone’s death is absolutely abhorrent. When you pray for someone’s death, you’re essentially telling them they to “go to Hell.”

God is the giver of life. Jesus came that we “may have life and have it abundantly” (John 10:10) But it is his enemy, Satan who “comes to steal, KILL, and destroy” (John 10:9) We know the 10 Commandments say not to murder and I would propose that praying for someone’s death ventures incredibly close to murder. You may not have literally killed that person, but some blood will be on your hands.

Regardless of what you believe about that particular person, to wish them death is ridiculous. And to call yourself a minister, someone who allegedly represents Christ, on top of that? Well… you sir, will have to answer to God for that.

I, honestly, don’t care whether or not you love and support everything the President does or not. As a Christian it is part of your duty to pray for the President to have wisdom, guidance, protection, discernment, and leadership. People, you have no idea what President Obama is up against. No idea. A little support, even if it’s just a prayer, goes a long way.

If you don’t like his administration, I don’t believe there is anything forbidding you from moving elsewhere, so you may want to take advantage of that opportunity.

However, it’s always important to read the whole article before making decisions. I’m glad I did because apparently it’s just this man that has (or at least admits) this point of view.

“Roger Oldham, vice president for convention relations with the Southern Baptist’s executive committee, told the Associated Baptist Press that Drake’s comments do not reflect the actions, resolutions or positions of the denomination.”

Well, thank God for spokespeople clarifying that! My goal is here NOT to judge him, lest the same standard be one day held against me. No, I’ll let God do that. My goal in writing this is to say: Pray for your president regardless of how you feel about him and his policies. Don’t wish death upon ANY person.

Read the article here: “Southern Baptist minister prays for Obama’s death

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I wholeheartedly agree with you Stu. Praying for this Pastor. He is being deceived.

Comment by Sanga

Can I just say that I hate that the first two lines of this article attempt to group Christians who are pro life with this man and those who supported slavery?? The media just burns me up with that stuff.

Comment by Sanga

Disturbing on so many levels!!! Some “Christians” have become as witches, plain and simple. But I guess we shouldn’t be surprised – the Bible does say that in the last days, even the very elect would be deceived. I just pray that by the grace of God that does not end up being me!

Comment by Brett

[…] — or at least the first I wrote about — it was Reverend Wiley Drake, former vice president of the Southern Baptist Convention, who was practicing “imprecatory […]

Pingback by Black Info.Net - African American News Hub | Black Info.Net

[…] popular posts I'm Wondering… "What's the Catch?" [vlog]Death to Obama? Really?God, Where’s My Ram?Eggs, Carrots, and CoffeeThree Reasons I Love Dating […]

Pingback by Christians! Can We NOT Pray For Obama’s Death? « the BLOG of stuart mcdonald

[…] — or at least the first I wrote about — it was Reverend Wiley Drake, former vice president of the Southern Baptist Convention, who was practicing “imprecatory […]

Pingback by Stop Praying For Our President To Die | Health Advice, Inspiration & Gospel Music for Black America




Leave a Reply

