the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


Make Sure You Get Your Rest
April 21, 2009, 4:11 am
Filed under: Ministry, My Life...

My life, since February of this year, has gotten so much more busy. Between working at One80 some mornings (5-10am), doing my regular graphic design, serving in ministry, having a small group amongst my other friends, and wanting to just ‘do’ stuff, I’ve been burning the candle at both ends. And when I head back to school this fall, it’ll only get worse. But I believe that something will change before then that will allow me to focus on the truly important things in life.

Between occasional shots of “5 Hour Energy” and getting 3 or 4 hrs of sleep at night only to come home in the middle of the day and sleep 2 or 3 more, I was (maybe still am) tired.

I make mention of this to say that we HAVE to slow down and take a break once and a while. This past weekend was incredible. It was the complete opposite of the weekend of Easter. I did nearly NOTHING and had a great time doing it!

I didn’t go out Friday night (I actually decided to stay in and not play a softball scrimmage we had for the sake of rest) I woke up early on Saturday to teach my running class, came home and napped before heading out to teach our membership class and chill out at a friends house (which was really, everyone-fall-asleep-on-the-couches time) I slept in on Sunday, went to church, had lunch with a friend and went back home.

My slow weekend made me realize that I CAN say no sometimes and there is nothing wrong with resting. If I don’t stop and slow myself down, no one will do it for me.

I know there are demands on everyone’s life, but if GOD took a day off after creating the world, I don’t know why we try and out-work him. I WILL be more intentional about getting done what needs to get done, but not burning myself out. If I’m burned out, I’m of no use to myself, nor anyone else, and least of all GOD!

In the light of this weekend you will see me take a few months off from serving and rest and relax, but it’s important that I get things in order first so I don’t just leave people hanging (that’s tacky!)

I got my rest… Are you getting yours? If not, what do you need to change in order to? Think about it and MAKE IT HAPPEN!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

Comment by mrred




Leave a Reply

