the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


Fasting the STU Way
December 29, 2008, 9:19 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

The first thing I would say is this: Trust God to physically supply you with what you need, both physically, spiritually and emotionally. He created our bodies and therefore knows what we need better than we do.

As far as food goes, there are a couple of things that become my best friend for the first 21 days of January. Of course, make sure you drink plenty of water. What helps me is to find a container that I can fill up about twice or maybe 3 times during the day (for me, it’s around 30oz) and making sure that I drink all of those.

1. Larabars – They’re great little snacks that are nothing but fruit and nuts. They’ve got some GREAT flavors (all of which are “Daniel-friendly”. My favorites would be: Banana Bread, Apple Pie, Pecan Pie, Cinnamon Roll, and Lemon.

2. Odwalla Superfood Juice – Now this stuff looks nasty, I’ll be honest with you, and people WILL look at you crazy when you drink it. But know this: it tastes NOTHING like it looks. It’s very fruity and kind of sweet. It is thick, but as long as you drink it cold, it’s just like a smoothie. It’s cheaper to buy the big bottle as opposed to the smaller individual sized bottles, but if you’re going to be traveling a lot, you should be able to find the smaller bottles in any Starbucks! I actually got hooked on this stuff when we did 40 days 2 years ago and drank a glass every morning for nearly a year! Maybe this is TMI, but it helps keep you regular too.

3. Odwalla Super Protein Bars – These are great when you’re really hungry and don’t want to look at another apple of a banana! Last year, when we fasted, I would eat 2 of these a day as well as other stuff, and I didn’t lose a pound because of the protein that I needed for working out. And of course they taste good too! Maybe not good enough to eat when you’re not fasting, but I won’t eat anything that isn’t good, regardless of whether or not we’re fasting.

4. Peanut Butter – I love peanut butter but especially with apples or banana or celery. You can’t beat it!

5. Quaker Instant Oatmeal – Something I eat regularly, but it’s great because you can take it with you when you travel and all you need it some hot water (which you can get in your hotel room if there’s a coffee maker). Some people trip about the flavors which can have a lot of sugars and unnatural ingredients in them. Honestly, it’s a personal thing and I wouldn’t worry about it, but you can always get the regular unflavored and then add some honey or raisins, apples, whatever you want to it.

Those 5 things are my “go-to” items when we fast. I’m actually going to be training for a half-marathon that I’ll run on January 25th, as well as a full marathon in March, so I’m definitely going out of my comfort zone this year as well. Know that you’re not alone and you’ve got 4,000 other people that will be going through the same things you will be.

Now, it’s no secret that I LOVE to eat out… and during the Daniel Fast, it can be a little challenging. Here are a few places you have to try:

1. Cafe Sunflower – This place is so good, I’ve eaten here when we WEREN’T fasting.
2. The Real Chow Baby – With create your own stir fry, you can’t go wrong.
3. OK Cafe – One of my all time Atlanta favorites, but they’ve got great veggies! (Mary Mac’s is good too)
4. Top Spice – Great Thai food!
5. Ru San’s – 2 words… Banana Sushi. Great spicy fried rice too!

That’s about it… If you have any questions feel free to let me know. Holla!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

