the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


You Make Me Who I Am… Thank You!
December 11, 2008, 5:55 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

This letter is an open “Thank You” letter to any and everyone who has ever interacted with me in any capacity. I would not be where I am today were it not for you. You have had an impact of the man that I am today, and the man that I’m growing and going to become. This may sounds strange, but I’ve not mentioned names or relationships because I want you to take whichever “Thank You’s” you’d like. I was thinking of specific people when I wrote some, but they could also apply to others. With that said…

Thank you for seeing in my what I sometimes can’t see for myself and believing in that enough to give me the responsibilities that you have. Thank you for leading by example and giving me wisdom when I needed it most.

Thank you for allowing me to lead and serve along side you. You truly make me who I am. As a leader, I acknowledge that I am only as good as the weakest member of the team and I thank you for being incredibly strong!

Thank you for being my fan and my cheerleader. Thank you for having my back when you shouldn’t have and for being in my corner when I needed you most. Thank you for showing me what it really means to love. Thank you for loving me unconditionally and in spite of me. Thank you for forgiving me even when I didn’t deserve it.

Thank you for letting me be vulnerable and understanding that I am not and will never be a perfect person; for loving me enough to not let me stay where I am, and for guiding me when I couldn’t find the right way to go.

Thank you for making it easy for me to do what I love to do. Thank you for allowing me to be a gentleman and to do go the extra mile.

Thank you for challenging me to become the man that you see inside of me, the man you know I can become. Thank you for keeping me moving and never letting me stand still and become complacent or apathetic. Thank you for holding me accountable.

Thank you for making me laugh, cry, smile, hurt, strive, fail, succeed, dream, and love. Thank you for telling me to shut up and for not holding it against me when I don’t. Thank you for listening and being my sounding board. Thank you for late nights and early mornings. For coffee, tea, Waffle House, Marietta Diner, and Cafe Intermezzo.

Thank you for inspiring me to dream of what the world could be and what I could do to have an impact on it. Thank you for your unwavering support, love, and encouragement. You are truly an example to all those who watch you.

Thank you for giving me the best parts of you. Thank you for letting me confide in you and letting me dream big. Thank you for not forcing me to do anything I didn’t want to, even when it was what you wanted for me. Thank you for giving me the world, and for letting me make my own mistakes.

Thank you for giving me a second, third, and eight-thousandth chance. Your love and grace are what keep me going. Thank you for saving my life and for saving me a space in eternity with you. Thank you for waking me up this morning and in advance for the mornings to come. Thank you for giving me dreams, passions, and visions that are so much bigger than me; things only we can do together. Thank you for being there when no one else was and for supplying all my needs and even some of my wants. Thank you for not giving me what I thought I needed. Thank you for my gifts and talents and allowing me to grow and use them for you and for your Kingdom.

Most of all, thank you for letting me be me with all it’s implications. You are truly one of a kind and I wouldn’t trade our relationship for anything in the world.

Please know that the 600 words on this page are not even close to enough to begin to describe the true gratitude I feel for all that you have done and will do for me! I absolutely appreciate every aspect of you and of our relationship. I thank God for you and for the role that you play in my life. You are incredible. Thank you.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

