the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


Another Year… As I Look Back Over My Life
October 10, 2008, 4:59 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Wow… Another year past… I really can’t believe it.

You know sometimes I have a tendency to get a little depressed on my birthday because I think about all the things I wanted to happen this year and see that they didn’t all come to pass. I think about all the things I think I should have accomplished by this time and this age and sometimes I honestly feel like a failure. But I know that those thoughts are not the best that God has for me. I know that He’s got me right where he wants me despite my best efforts to try and be elsewhere sometimes. There are 2 songs I think of that really say it best:

You’ve Been So Faithful – Eddie James:
As I look back over my life, I can see how Your love has guided me. Even though I’ve done wrong, You never left me alone. But You forgave me, And You kept on blessing. This I recall to my mind therefore I have hope: It’s because of Your mercy that we are not consumed. Because Thy compassions fail not, they are new every morning… Great is Thy faithfulness… Great is Thy faithfulness

You’ve been, Lord You’ve been so faithful (Even though sometimes I didn’t do what You wanted me to do)

I can never repay You Lord for what You done for me, How You loosed my shackles and You set me free. How You made a way out of no way, Turned my darkness into day. You’ve been my joy in the time of sorrow, Hope for my tomorrow, Peace in the time of storm, Strength when I’m weak and worn.

Lord Your Grace – Fred Hammond:
As I look back over all the years that I made it through, I can’t imagine where I’d be now if it wasn’t for You. Why Your favor rests upon me I could never explain But I’m so glad that I can say Your grace in my life lasts forever; Your goodness and mercy and grace lasts forever

There are sometimes that God seems so real to me… Tonight was one of those nights. Sitting around the table at Buckhead Diner with some of my small group I was just so thankful that God has surrounded me, not only with a loving a caring family here in Atlanta, but a group of friends that are just as close, if not closer than my biological family. They too are my blood family… but it’s not the blood that flows through our veins. It’s the blood that flowed from my Savior’s veins nearly 2,000 years ago when He hung on the cross for us so that we could be grafted into His family together! I know that sounds super-spiritual, but I really thank God for getting me this far! I’ve had so many opportunities and chances to just slip up and foul up what He has for me and it’s only my His grace that, not only am I here, alive, and in one piece, but that I’m right where He wants me.

I’ll leave you with a challenge. Think about where you are. The fact that you can read this sentence alone is enough to give God praise for. The fact that you have sight, movement in your limbs, clothes on your back and a roof over your head is more than a large portion of the world can say for themselves. I truly hope that God never lets me take the simple things for granted and I pray the same for you.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sometimes it’s so easy to overlook what we call the small things. What I mean by that is sometimes we fail to thank God for life itself. I can say this because there have been times that I’ve fallen short of thanking God. I’ve focused too much on what I wanted and not what God has already provided for me. I’m in a situation right now that is totally necessary for my relationship with God and I thank Him for this place that I’m in right now. I’m not working, I don’t have my own place, and my reasons for moving to Atlanta seems so far from what they should be, however, I know God is in control. That’s one of your favorite songs isn’t Stu? If it wasn’t for my current situation I would not be able to recognize my spiritual growth. Nevertheless, if God wanted it to be any other way then it would be different.

I really needed to read this blog entry because sometimes I can become derailed. Thanks for getting me back on track.

Comment by Shuckizney

I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and entertaining, and
without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.

The issue is something which not enough people are speaking intelligently about.
I am very happy that I found this in my search for something regarding
this.

Comment by the fat loss Factor




Leave a Reply

