the BLOG of stuart mcdonald


Wanting to satisfy the crowd…
February 9, 2009, 5:38 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was reading my Word this morning and it was talking about the account of Jesus’ crucifixion, and the events leading up to that. As many times as I’ve read it, something new jumped out at me this morning. It talks about when the Feast came around and the custom was to release a prisoner. Pilate wanted to release Jesus, but the people wanted Barabbas, who was a murderer. But it was verse 15 that jumped out at me the most. It says, “Wanting to satisfy the crowd, Pilate released Barabbas to them. He had Jesus flogged, and handed him over to be crucified.”

Wow… It wasn’t necessarily Pilate’s ‘fault’ that Jesus was crucified. He was strictly doing what others asked of him. In Matthew, it says that he washed his hands in front of the crowd of people in order to free himself from the responsibility of what he had done.

But I thought to myself, how often do we do something ‘wanting to satisfy the crowd’? Probably more often than we think we do. We obviously live in a very image driven society and I so often see men and women doing certain things because of what they think others will think about them because of that thing.

But I think we made the mistake in misunderstanding that others approval is ultimately worthless. If you like me, who I am, what I have to say, great… if not, that’s great too. I’m not gonna sweat the fact that you don’t approve of who I am, what I wear, who I hang out with, etc. That’s not important to me. What is important is living for the approval of one… The One. If I can please Him, he can supply me with everything I could ever want and need, including favor with men.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

